Post by Clyde Thorburn SEO Specialist on Oct 12, 2018 5:49:07 GMT
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Each one of these phrases is consider a different KW. Now let’s say you’re an advertiser on Adwords. You sign up to the system and upload a list of keywords which you think are relevant to your product. After you upload your KWs and write the ad for your product, you’re good to go (don’t worry all of this will be explained in depth later on, I just want you to get the general idea at the moment). Once someone searches for one of your KWs, Google will display your ad. So it’s all about picking the right KWs to make your ad show up in the right time. But here is where it gets tricky. Google wants their ads to be relevant to what the user is searching for, so you can’t just put an ad up for a Bitcoin exchange if the user is searching for “red tennis shoes”. This means that you have to have a high correlation between your KWs and your ads. You also need your landing page to be related to the KWs you pick. So if the KW you are bidding on is “Bitcoin exchange” and you send your user to a webpage about organic fruit - that’s a big no-no in Google terms. The correlation between the KW, the ad and the landing page is called Quality Score (QS) and it’s one of the main factors that decides at what position your ad will show up if at all. Each KW you will add to your campaign will get a different QS between 1-10 according to this correlation. The QS also changes according to how effective your ad is. If many users click on your ad - your QS goes up.
If nobody clicks on your ad, it goes down. The percentage of users who click on your ad is called Click Through Rate or CTR. It’s going to be your job to make sure you have a high CTR so that your QS will go up and your ad gets shown more often. Any time your ad is shown, it means it got an impression (or imps in short). So if your ad was shown 200 times, it means it got 200 impressions. And if from these 200 times, 10 people clicked on it, it means its CTR will be 10/200 = 5%. So to recap what we learned up until now. There are two main networks - search and display. The search network is activated by KWs. The KWs have to be related to the ads and to the landing page as well. The higher the correlation the higher your QS for that KW is. CTR also affects QS. Every time an ad is shown it means it received an impression. If you haven’t lost track of me yet then we’re doing great. I have one more technical thing I want to go over which is crucial to understand and that’s the pricing model of Adwords. You only pay if someone clicks your ad. Adwords works on a Pay Per Click model (also known as PPC). This means that you only pay for your ad if someone clicked it. This makes it extremely effective for the advertisers since they don’t have to spend a dime if no one clicked on their ads. Your max CPC is the maximum amount you are willing to pay per 1 click. This can be any number between 1 cent and a million dollars depending on your budget. You will almost never pay you max CPC.
That is why it’s called a max CPC - it’s the maximum you are willing to pay but usually you’ll pay less. I won’t get into details on how to calculate how much you’re going to actually pay since it’s a bit complicated but for now just remember that usually you’ll pay a lower price than your max CPC. So why not show my ads all the time? I won’t pay if no one clicks. I thought you might ask that. The thing is, Google wants to make money, and it’s not going to let you put up ads that no one clicks on if they can put more relevant ads which will get clicked. That’s exactly why the QS is affected so much by the CTR. If your CTR is low it means that no one is clicking on your ad. If no one is clicking on your ad, it’s probably not that relevant. If it’s not that relevant it’s not going to be showing up for long since you’re losing Google money. How does Google decide if your ad will be shown? Each ad you own has its own ad rank. The ad rank is the result your QS X your max CPC. So for example, let’s say you want to advertise for the KW “buy bitcoins” and your max CPC is $2. Google calculates your QS and gives you a result of 7. This means your ad rank for that specific KW is 2*7 = 14. Whenever someone types “buy bitcoins” in Google, your ad rank competes with all other ad ranks for that KW and the order of appearance is decided from the highest ad rank to the lowest. Since there are only 10 ad spots on a Google page, ads that come after 10th place won’t be shown at all.
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